Scanning the Presidential Candidates


America

I’m taking a digital art class this semester. Our first project was manipulating images of objects that we scanned into the computer. For my mother’s birthday, earlier this year, I bought her a handheld scanner. She lent it to me for this project. So, I was wandering around campus one evening after class, scanning things I saw. I was walking by the large bulletin board by Kadema Hall. A flyer for something caught my attention. I wasn’t interested in using it for the project, I wanted to check this group out for my personal interest. I realized that I had left almost everything in my car. I didn’t have a pen or pencil, or anything to write on. How would I jot down the phone number? AHA! I had a brilliant idea. I put what I was holding up on top of the bulletin board (to free my hands), I took a strip of paper dangling from another flyer, grabbed an unused pushpin from the bulletin board, and proceeded to scratch the phone number into the strip of paper. Great! Now, I can just make out the phone number, etched into my strip of paper. Aren’t I clever. So, I put the pushpin back on the bulletin board, and reached up to the top of the bulletin board to retrieve my….. hand….. my hand-held…. scanner. Hmm. Well, that was silly. I had the perfect solution in my hand, at the time.

This story isn’t just to make you laugh. It is a good analogy for the 2016 presidential run.

When we are trying to decide who to elect to the office of President of the United States, we (in most cases) have the perfect standards by which to judge the candidates. Most of these candidates have been politicians for a significant period of time. They have governed, signed legislation, pushed to create or destroy government agencies, etc. They have a track record, a resume, that we can look at. We can pretty much see what is important to them, and what they would likely set as top priorities, if elected. Instead, we put that resume up on top of Kadema Hall’s bulletin board, and then proceed to obsess over mostly irrelevant things. For instance, Hillary Clinton had to re-direct the conversation at the last debate when the issue of her e-mails came up. Bernie Sanders even came to her defense, and told people to stop talking about the e-mails. Now, I’d be lying to say that the e-mail scandal didn’t give me pause. It looks very bad. And, if a politician I hated had gotten caught doing the same thing, it would make me upset. But, it wouldn’t hold my attention for long, because there are many other things about said politicians that are much more important. Also, on a side note, no politician would want the American people to read their e-mails. ALL politicians have to wheel and deal, and be slimy. It is the nature of the game. If you were to look through all their e-mails, every politician (at one time or another) is going to have said something that America would be unhappy with. We need to stop focusing on SQUIRREL! We need to realize we have the perfect standard by which to measure the presidential candidates, their track record. We need to stop putting their resumes on top of the bulletin board, while we scratch at more trivial things. All we will end up with is a very small strip of a “resume”, that you can just barely make out how you THINK they will run the country. This is a serious, and very important, election. We need to treat it as such.

If you enjoyed this blog post, listen to my show: Poli-Psycho with DJ Tray Squat, Wednesdays at 7pm on KSSU.com

