A Trip Down Concert Avenue


ace of spades

Recently I attended the Mastodon concert at Ace Of Spades here in Sacramento. Numerous times I hear people complain about the sound quality at Ace Of Spades, or even at The Boardwalk and Harlows. I admit I do not have an hear for music, but to me I think all venues have the same sound. I am more concerned with the layout and organization of a concert hall. Ace Of Spades or the Boardwalk to me are quite fun to go to since the stage is so close that you can get pretty close to the artists.

I have been going to concerts as long as I have been going to movie theaters. I actually grew up in the East Bay area so I had the privilege of experiencing amazing concerts and venues. Slim’s, Great American Music Hall, Bill Graham Civic, and The Shoreline Amphitheater which I have attended specifically too many times to count. During all these performances did I pay attention to the sound coming through the speakers but rather the entire atmosphere. The smell of drugs, sweat, dirt, and alcohol even the noise feels like it has a smell to it. The lights or lasers that flicker through the night or the bodies pressed against you swaying through the night become a cosmic blur. And you keep feeling that adrenaline long after the concert ends, with the buzz of that music humming through your ears.

Mastodon had the same feeling. They are not one of my top favorite bands and usually not the kind of music I listen to, but still a great band to see live. This high paced rock/metal band always gets the crowd moshing to no end. I don’t mind mosh pits, as long as I am not stuck in the middle. I like to be right by the edge just to get that intense feeling, but at the same time not attacked by sweaty men who could accidentally punch my ribcage.

Ace of Spades is a great venue as well. Since I have moved to Sacramento, I have seen multiple bands here. It’s crazy to have so many bars inside but logically seeing how many people can get packed in there. I’ve never had a bad experience other than paying an arm and a leg for drinks, but is not really a surprise for over charging at concerts.

I think going to see bands live can be a beautiful experience. Yes you may have to sacrifice your wallet but standing in historical venues and getting to experience the sights and sounds is something that money cannot buy as cliche as that sounds. Everyone should attend at least one live event and I hope to continue enjoying these artists for as long as I can.

 

DJ Jaws is a DJ at KSSU

