What Enriches Your Sacramento State Experiences?


That is the question.

In the past, I’ve been involved with high school extracurricular such as ASB (student government). I know how much work that has been, but that has motivated me to continue on with being active in high school. I just didn’t want to sit in class to class and go home with no enjoyment afterword. Now in college, I haven’t found anything like ASB to be involved in. That doesn’t mean that I won’t be an active student. I have always been skilled at being organized and understand commitment, but thanks to Sac State’s EOP / Full Circle Project and the Theatre Department, I was able to develop and expand more on these concepts that will help me in my future experiences here in campus and at future use.

From the start, Education Opportunity Program (EOP) is what I’ve selected during my college application. It’s a program for low income students and this help gives guidance to be successful all through their college years. In this program, they required every student to get a head in academic, so there was a program called Summer Bridge at the same time they required students to select a learning community. This was when I was introduced to Full Circle Project (FCP), a program that’s for Asian Pacific Islanders where students get to take the same courses and attend to the same events to learn more about the API community. Students have the chance to get to know other APIs and get connections and resources. Being in FCP, I didn’t like it at first because it was too many requirements that confused me during this semester. It was easier in the summer because the schedule was specific that when we will have to attend to class. In this semester, FCP has required their students to enrolled in three classes and they also have mandatory meetings (and events). I honestly didn’t like it at first because it was all too much. There were confusions with time classes and meetings all among the students. How I was able to handle this hassle? Well, I became organized in scheduling my duties. I began to construct a calendar (hand drawn) of each month, so I can see what events do I have to attend. Even if I only began this system last month, this has helped me to remind myself so much more. I was able to notice events that I never would have gone if I never wrote it down on a calendar. I just don’t use this technique for FCP, but also for any appointments or important dates such as exam dates. Now, I have two calendars; one for assignments and due dates and the other for notifications of event or any appointments.

On the other hand, being a Theatre major means that I have to do at least two shows as a crew member (props or tech crew) and have to at least audition once. Over the summer, I did the dance audition for the first fall play, Flight, but I didn’t passed. I really wanted to be stage manager, but I realized that I couldn’t do that also. Even though I had a calendar to organize events, I knew that I would not be able to handle myself with that type of stress. Being stage manager, you have to be committed to all of your work because everyone is counting on you, even the director for the play is. I almost crew for Flight instead, but I chose not to do so because I still wasn’t sure if I will be able to stick with this from the start to the end. Recently, I had decided to be a part of the upcoming show (that open on the 12th) Compleat Female Stage Beauty. Everyone in this production has to be there from the 12th (opening night) to the 22nd (closing night) and be there for every show. All rehearsals without audience has all finished already. I took part of being the tech crew, specifically to sound. Coming to rehearsals the past days did eat a lot of my homework and free time, but I knew that I chose a sacrifice to balance everything out. Yet, I did not back out. Yes, I knew this would be a challenge for me because it’s time to be organized and be committed.

At first thought of Sac State, the campus sounds unimpressive because I am a Sacramento born and been here for most of my life. Yes, Sac State sounds boring because it’s a local campus, but when you think hard about it, Sac State has what other schools doesn’t have. There are programs, like the Theatre and Dance Department, the Engineering Program, Teaching Credential Program, etc. that are provided and the diversity of the school. It’s easy to judge Sac State in any ways. What I have taken with me was being more organized and being committed thanks to the opportunities that I’ve taken while I start my first year here.

Alexandria is a DJ with KSSU11-15 Blog

