The 4 Things I Love About Being a KSSU Volunteer


KSSULove

Hi. My name is Josh and I have a confession to make. I really love being a part of KSSU.

Choosing to become a KSSU volunteer is probably one of the best decisions I have made in my college career. I’m not sure if that says more about the quality of decisions I’ve made or how awesome this place is, but I’m leaning towards the latter.

Here are a few reasons why I like being a part of this radio station so much, in no particular order.

1. Meeting New People

It might sound like a bit of a cliché , but meeting people really is one of the biggest benefits of being a part of this station. I can honestly say that I never would have met most of the people I know now without being involved at KSSU.

We have such a diverse group of DJs, with many different colleges and majors represented among our ranks. Obviously there are those majoring in Communications, but there are also History majors, Music majors, and Business majors. That’s just off the top of my head.

That’s part of what makes this place special. It brings together people who would otherwise not have interacted at all and let us all find common ground, whether it’s music, academic pursuits, Magic the Gathering, movies, or chili dogs.

2. Being on the radio

Let’s face it, a big benefit to being a KSSU volunteer is the opportunity to have an hour each week to share a part of ourselves with the world. Whether we concentrate on music, sports, or some other third thing, we have a rare opportunity to share things we think are important with as big an audience as we can draw.

My own show has evolved since I first started on KSSU. At first it was just a general music show, with me just looking through the shelves to find something to play, but now it has become something completely different — a soccer talk show.

I love having the opportunity to yell into a microphone for the better part of an hour each week and have people actually listen to the things I have to say. Call it what you will, but the fact that I have the platform to broadcast my ideas on the beautiful game across the internet is awesome.

3. Finding new music

Like I mentioned before, my show was originally one focused mostly on playing music, back before I succumbed fully to my soccer addiction. It was during this time that I made my first music discovery as a KSSU volunteer, The Pirate Flags.

Yes, that’s right. The first band I was really excited to discover was a bunch of people from Indiana singing pirate tunes. I had never really heard anything like that before and I just loved it.

I’ve also been fortunate enough to discover some great songs and artists through reviewing CDs for the station as well. Without KSSU, I probably wouldn’t know names like Courtney Barnett, Kyle Williams, and Black Pistol Fire.

4. The video games

This is just simple, really. I had not played Super Smash Bros. in years until I came to KSSU. But now I can get together some of my fellow DJs and get my virtual behind handed to me whenever I want to.

So there you have it, four reasons why choosing to become a part of KSSU has been one of the best decisions I have made in a while. And while we’re on the topic of good decisions, listening to KSSU will be one of the best decisions you will make in your entire life.

Josh Beeman is a volunteer DJ with KSSU. His show, Beeman’s Republic, is every Wednesday at 10am. Check it out for all the Sacramento area soccer talk you could ever want.

Leave a Reply

