I Made It!


Running

Hello everyone DJ Rivers here!

So I recently hit a huge accomplishment and felt the need to share. Over this past weekend I ran. And not just any run. I ran 13 miles.

It was in the top five of the hardest workouts I have ever done. My co-worker at the MAX asked me to join her on a run. Prior to this the farthest I ran for my training was 9 miles. She said I could decide if I wanted to run 10 or 13 on the day of our little adventure. Against my better judgement I said I’d give it my all and run 13 miles.

Before I go into more detail let me just say that this lady is a beast. She just recently ran a full on marathon and kicked butt. She kind of intimidates me but totally pushes me to do my best.

We were about four miles into our run and apparently we ran straight into a local 10k race that was going on. There were tables set up with cups of water, Gatorade, and there were people cheering. I was so caught off guard that I didn’t hear the pace maker on a bike yell at me to get out of the way, and almost got mowed down. My running companion and I ran straight through the finish line and I’m pretty sure they snapped pictures of us at this event. Whoops!

Fast forward to about mile 10. We’re running around the Sacramento Zoo and the smell of animal poop is motivation enough for me to pick up the pace. Just when I thought we were in the clear I realized that the smell clung to my shirt and I probably smelled just as bad. I was sweating like a pig and the weather was getting warmer. My running partner was starting to pick up the pace and let me just say that the struggle was real to keep up.

I have never felt so accomplished after a workout as I did that day. We finished a little over 13 miles in 2 hours and 10 minutes. This was a total success in my book and now I know that I am capable of running 13 miles without dying.

When I run I find that I can’t focus on anything other than my breathing and not tripping over my own two feet. I love that it becomes something challenging and relaxing all at once. I am still slightly nervous about my upcoming half marathon race in April, just because the atmosphere is totally different in a race versus independent running. I can’t wait for it though! Honestly I think I’m more excited to get the T-shirt that says I ran a half marathon, but the actual race part will be fun too.

Moral of the story: if you’re ever looking to get a workout done and clear your mind, just create a playlist of your favorite music, find a scenic trail and get going. It doesn’t have to be a full on sprint either. It can be a walk or light jog. It’s nice to get outside and soak up some vitamin D while getting active. Invite some friends along too!

DJ Rivers is a dj with KSSU

Leave a Reply

