My Unpleasant History with April Fools Day


calendar

Hi, my name is Josh Beeman and for most of my life I hadn’t really given much thought to April Fools Day. For me the first day of April was just any other day, not really notable in any way. But that all changed when the Fire Nation attacked I got April Fooled hard last year.

For those not aware – which I’m assuming is pretty much everyone, I am the Managing Editor of Indomitable City Soccer, a blog dedicated to coverage of Sacramento Republic FC. This means that I receive a lot of press releases in any given week, which is pretty cool.

There is one problem, though. The good people at Sacramento Republic FC love themselves some April Fool’s and up until last year I was a gullible little fool with a twinkle in my eye and a song in my heart. Ok, maybe there was no twinkle or song.

In 2015, Sacramento Republic sent out a press release saying that they would be opening up the Cal Expo monorail and the Raging Waters waterslides near their stadium, Bonney Field, to premium seating. Not realizing what day it was, I started tweeting away about how weird and cool it was for the Republic to do that. After all, I had joked a few times about seeing a game from the monorail or the nearby waterslides, and now with this completely real news I would have the chance.

But then I noticed that there were a few too many people paying attention to what I was saying and got suspicious. A quick look at my phone confirmed my suspicions, that I had been had. That I had been April Fooled harder than I had ever been before.

Fast forward to this year and I marked off April Fools Day on my calendar way ahead of time. I woke up last Friday determined not to be taken in again. Thankfully I was not.

So there you have it, my most memorable moment with the least memorable of holidays.

For the record, I still think that monorail seating would be awesome.

Beeman is a DJ with KSSU

Leave a Reply

