Love Life


5k

Hello there, everyone!

I think we can all agree that life gets hectic at times. Juggling jobs, school, recreation, studying and maybe even a little sleep here and there can seem like an impossible task. When this happens it is easy to get frustrated and discouraged, but you can do it! Balance is possible and don’t take any of your opportunities for granted.

Personally, I find it hard to evenly balance my responsibilities and my desires. I either binge watch Gossip Girl on Netflix and neglect my responsibilities; or I spend copious amounts of time on daily tasks then get frustrated when I don’t have the time to do other activities.

Trying to break the procrastinator cycle can be difficult for many. And from the attendance in the library during the semester, I think everyone falls under the first (bing-watching) category for the first 14 weeks and spends the 15th week in overdrive trying to cram information into the nooks and crannies of their brain. Then comes the sleep deprivation then the stress then the frustration, but it doesn’t need to be that way! I recently found myself in the same rut, but after taking a step back I realized that there is so much I could do to turn that around. Instead of blaming the world around me, I could change my habits and my attitude to live a happier and healthier life. So here are the steps I took to turn things around…

  1. Take inventory of what is going on around you

    The first step to solving the problem is figuring out what the problem is in the first place. Too much sleep? Not enough sleep? Feeling overwhelmed? Procrastinating?Once you’ve identified your problem write them down. Look at what it is that is stressing you out. Then see how much of it can be prevented and think of how you can turn that around.

  2. Appreciate what you have

    This past week I found myself dreading working out and I found inspiration in the most unlikely places, Facebook. I was scrolling through my feed and saw a member of a workout program I instruct for post a picture. It read ” Be thankful for what you have. You have no idea how many people would love to have what you’ve got.” And that really struck me. I am a young, healthy individual. I’ve got two arms, two legs, ten fingers, ten toes and am able to workout. That’s more than some have. I am able to go to an awesome college and graduate in three years. The more I thought about it, the longer the list became. There are over 7 billion people in the world; and I’m glad to be me.

  3. Plan your days out

    If time management is what your troubles boil down to, then make a list. I keep a planner with me at all times! Put everything in there and you will thank yourselves later! That’s right: birthdays, work schedules, school schedule, homework assignments, finals, deadlines, all of it!

  4. Stick to your plans

    It’s a little counterproductive if you spend all this time writting in a calendar and then leave it at home or never open it again. If it helps, write specific tasks to complete each day and cross them out as you go. Your phone is a helpful tool for this as well. If you’ve got an iPhone, take advantage of the calendar and reminder applications; it’s what it is meant for! This helps you feel accomplished at the end of the day and relieves any anxiety about forgetting something.

  5. Do at least one thing you enjoy each day

    It can be as simple as going on a walk or reading, but do something that is strictly for you! Dedicate 30 minutes to an hour to yourself. Treat yo self. If you find yourself with more free time then amp it up by going out with friends!

  6. Smile more and worry less

    You are an amazing person and don’t forget it. Be the best possible version of yourself in all aspects of life.Find that happy balance between work and pleasure and enjoy life. College students spend so much time stressed out that we often lose sight of the fact that these are supposed to be our fun years. While it is important to take school seriously, your mental and physical health need to be in tip top shape as well.  I’ll leave you with this last tid-bit. As Dr. Seuss once wrote:

Today you are you! That is truer than true!

There is no one alive who is you-er than you

The more that you read, the more things you will know.

The more that you learn, the more places you’ll go.

Don’t cry because it’s over. Smile because it happened.

 You have brains in your head. You have feet in your shoes.

You can steer yourself any direction you choose.

You’re off to Great Places! Today is your day!

Your mountain is waiting, So… get on your way! 

Angelina is a DJ for KSSU

Leave a Reply

