Goodbye Summer, Hello Fall


BeachDJ Sloppy Joe here.

It’s sad to know that Summer fun is over with and its’ back to the grind with Fall 2016. However, it’s not completely bad that Fall 2016 is upon us; in December, I will be graduating with my bachelors degree in Communications and minoring in Psychology. All the hard work, blood, sweat, and tears at Sacramento State is finally going to pay off. I can see the light at the end of the tunnel!

However, let’s do a recap of my Summer 2016. For starters, at the end of Spring 2016, I attended the Bernie Sander rally at the Sacrament Cal Expo. During a time where political debate is high and presidential candidates are going to be voted on in November, I felt that it was necessary to attend the Bernie Sanders rally. To be honest, I am not very political and I am not very happy with the candidates we have to choose from, but listening to Bernie Sanders speech was very insightful and shed light on economic topics that I had never considered before. I didn’t attend this rally to be a band wagoner, but more so to learn about a candidate that I thought fit the middle road between Hillary Clinton and Donald Trump. Overall, the rally was fun to attend and I learned a lot about the possibility of change within our country.

20160608_144600Beyond the Sanders rally, I actually was a part of some fun activities. For instance, my girlfriend Jessica and one of my best friends, Devin visited the South Yuba River State Park for the first time where we were able to lounge in some watering holes and float in our inner tubes down a few rapids. This place was really cozy and not crowded by tons of people, which made it relaxing. We packed enough food for the afternoon, had lunch, jumped off some rocks into the water, and headed home for the day. Overall, it was the perfect day escape when the temperatures in Sacramento were 100 plus degrees.

Next on the Summer list was Pokemon Go. This app took me by storm. For those who don’t know, Pokemon Go combines the feature of geocaching with the means of catching Pokemon characters. Mind you, I never grew up watching Pokemon or playing with Pokemon cards, so Pokemon Go was completely foreign to me. When I initially started playing, I had no idea what I was doing and luckily my friend Amanda is a comic nerd and she educated me on everything Pokemon related. What started out as this fun app quickly turned into an addiction of wanting to “Catch Them All”. Nepokemon-go-logoarly every night that I was not working, I would spend evenings in Davis parks, the Woodland Cemetery, and Old Sacramento attempting to spin Poke Stops and catch Pokemon over and over again so I could keep leveling up. Eventually the problem got so bad that I racked up a nice data charge on my phone bill. Ha! It was at this point that I had to do some self-reflection and wean myself off of playing Pokemon Go. The game in general is extremely fun, but super addicting and it makes it hard to play during the semester when you’re balancing work, school, and organizations that you are a part of.

Another fun event that I was a part of this Summer was taking my 89-year-old Grandpa to Yosemite National Park. We collectively went as a family and got a chance to see Half Dome and El Capitan. We stayed at a cabin within the park for only two nights, but we packed in as much sightseeing as we possibly could, including hiking to Yosemite Falls.

Between traveling and working as a server at a restaurant, I  spent my free time hitting the gym religiously, teaching myself Spanish, going out to restaurants with friends, and viewing the latest films of the Summer. In sum, I feel that I had a pretty successful Summer and I am looking forward to graduating in December. Sacramento State University has been one of the best chapters of my life.

Leave a Reply

