Inktober


Untitled-1I’m sitting at my desk, it’s 1 am and I’ve just returned from the bar where I’ve been singing karaoke with a bunch of old friends. The cool air is flowing past from a whole house fan and I’m  listening to my hip hop Pandora station while drinking a large glass of ice water. It’s a good night.

Anyhoo, I’m here to write about Inktober. Created in 2009 by a Mr. Jake Parker, this is something that has been popping up in my social network feeds for awhile now and this coming October will by my first time participating. The premise is simple enough; you draw something once a day for the entire month of October, and place it on one of your social media websites. They aren’t all that particular about which one, but if you’re planning on participating, I’d suggest Twitter as that seems to be the largest following I’ve seen.

Skill really isn’t a factor, but most of the people I’ve seen share their drawings generally know which end of the pen has ink coming out, and also tend to know how to use said pen as well. It ranges from people who are learning to draw and need the practice to people who are basically showing off. The whole point of it is to practice though, so I wouldn’t let the pro’s discourage. Or really ever in anything you do. This is your life, don’t let skilled people intimidate you from doing what you want to do. Everyone was a beginner once.

Also, once you’ve done the deed, (by that I mean drawing your drawing) you’ll want to tag it with a hashtag which is totally a twitter thing, but you can do it on other services as well.

#inktober

#inktober2016

This will allow people to look up inktober submissions and enjoy your artwork!

There are actually a lot of different months like this. The other one that comes to mind is November’s Nanowrimo, where people attempt to write a book in a month. I’ve attempted this one as well and didn’t finish, but I think this year I’ll give it another shot. If I don’t succeed this time, I’ll give it a shot next year. You can also attempt to grow a beard in November for no shave November. There are also 48 hour game making competitions if you’re more of a techy. These guys are great. I’ve been apart of Ludum Dare for a few years now and if you’re into making games, I’ve found few communities I like as much.

When November starts coming up, I’ll attempt to write a book and write another blog post about my attempt as well as a postmortem.

My name is Chris Diel and when I’m not singing karaoke, doing Inktober, attempting to write a book in a month, not shaving for November, developing video games, or programming in general, you can find me at Sacramento State’s only student run radio station KSSU.

Look forward to next week when I release an article on my current progress with my Raspberry Pi, or Linkedin, or something else. I don’t know what I’m going to write about yet, but it’ll be good!

Leave a Reply

