Afflicted- Scary Movie Review


afflictedRecently, I have been reminded of one of my old favorite movies, “Interview with the Vampire” with Tom Cruise and Brad Pitt. This movie came out in 1994 and I saw it a few years later as a young kid. In comparison, a recent vampire film that I watched was title, “Afflicted” which came out in 2013 and starred no famous actors. However, a brief synopsis of this film is based upon two people named Cliff and Derek who are interested in backpacking through 17 counties all over the world. The roll of Cliff was to document every city and traveling experience they encountered while Derek’s main motive was to get out and see the world, because he had an inoperable brain aneurysm. During this backpack adventure, Derek sleeps with a stranger who ends up biting and bludgeoning him. As a result, he has some adverse side effects, such as seizures, and throwing up with the inability to be exposed to the sun. In addition, they slowly discover Derek has super human abilities, which include: running at a fast rate, climbing tall buildings, jumping long distance, and his body is able to repair any damages he experiences. In this process, he continually has to seek human blood to stay alive and learns that he has become the victim of a vampire attack. Once he realizes the conditions he has to live with, he has to choose to utilize his vampire strengths for good or evil. I will not tell you which direction he chooses to go, but instead I will let you watch the film.

On a scale of 1 to 10, I would rate the scare factor of this movie a 4. Despite the fact that this film did not have a lot of scenes that would make you jump out of your seat, the genre was still considered horror. This film was appealing to me, because I have been personally interested in backpacking through Europe after I graduate. Furthermore, I really enjoyed the way this movie was shot. The film was shot in first person, handycam style, but it was less disorienting than the original Blair Witch Project. In regards to recommending this film to others, I thought it was appealing, but I would not recommend it to those who are looking to be shocked or frightened.

Overall, if I were reviewing this movie I would give it 3 out of 5 stars. It was not a bad movie, but it was not the best horror film I have watched. Personally, I am more interested in movies directed by Rob Zombie, such as House of 1,000 Corpses, The Devil’s Rejects, and his remake of Halloween. Rob Zombie makes twisted movies that I find to be much scarier than Afflicted. Rob Zombie recently came out with a movie titled 31 that is in theatres now. I recently viewed the trailer for 31 and I think that it looks like a much scarier film that I would like to watch and potentially recommend for more serious horror buffs.

Leave a Reply

