When coffee runs your life: Confessions from a five cups a day coffee drinker


promiseThe other day, I went into work at the Courtyard Market, an eatery for students on Sac State’s campus. I had this throbbing sensation in my head.

Was it the stress of going into work?

Was it this presidential election?

Was it life?

No. It was coffee. I hadn’t had a cup of the bean water, and it was on the verge of being 4:30 p.m.

A survey by the Zagat Blog in 2015 found that the average American drinks about 2.1 cups of coffee a day.

And that was last year.

In the morning I fill my 16 oz. travel mug with the cold brew I’ve prepared the day before.

That’s two cups of coffee.

And yes, I’m one of those snobby french press owning-straight espresso drinking-coffee hipster-millennials.

Around 12 p.m. the buzz starts wearing off, and I make my way to the nearest watering hole; aka Starbucks or Java City.

That’s cup numbers three and four.

If I work, which is five days a week, I am rewarded by a free cup of coffee.

And that makes cup number five. Yikes.

How did this addiction get so bad? I joke with my co-workers that coffee is a gateway drug. Well, that’s not so far from the truth.

New York States Office of Alcohol and Substance Abuse Services says that, “Caffeine is not considered a ‘gateway drug’, though it is related to heavier cigarette use.” They also note that the withdrawal symptoms experienced from coffee are similar to the withdrawal from drugs including headaches, tremors and fatigue.

I remember being in the back seat of my mom’s van as she drove my sisters and I to school every morning. We would always be in awe of the talent she possessed driving with a large cup of coffee from 7-11 without a lid on in her hand.

And I remember my dad, getting ready to go to work every night by filling his large thermos, which looked more suitable for a truck driver than a grocery store stocker, with coffee. I would look into that pool of dark liquid, smell the bold smoky aroma and cringe with disgust.

When do we transition from despising that smell to craving it daily? And how did it get to the point where I’m intaking five cups a day?

Recently I was reading an article by the LA Times which said that coffee drinking habits are hereditary. So I can blame my parents for my coffee addiction, right?

Well, not entirely. For about a year I managed a coffee shop back home in Santa Barbara. And then when I moved to Sacramento in August I was ringed into a world of local roasteries that offer coffee tastings and home brewing classes.

Out of all the places I could’ve lived I had to choose Sacramento, which just celebrated the dark substance that keeps my life together with a Specialty Coffee Week.

I would like to believe that the stars aligned for a reason and led me to this coffee fixated life.

I choose to accept my addiction and hope to someday lower my daily intake. I’m writing this blog as I drink coffee, so the chances of that happening are slim at the moment.

What about you? How much coffee do you drink daily?

I can’t be the only one who drinks five cups a day. Right?

 

Trackbacks

  1. […] I moved to Sacramento was filled with books. And don’t get me started on coffee. Just read my previous blog for more details on that […]

Leave a Reply

