Holiday Season Traditions


halloweentoholidayI love the holidays, especially this time of year. The weather is cold, you want to stay inside, and eating food with family is always the best solution.

Every Thanksgiving my family and I used to go to Richmond, California to visit our cousins and eat a large dinner. However, now that we are older things changed. No one is ever home because of work, school, or their own lives. Leading to us not seeing each other often.

Thanksgiving and Christmas are the only two holidays my entire family have off. Our new tradition is staying at my mothers house the night before. I buy the pies, my sister buy the turkey, my brothers and mother buy the rest of the food. Thanksgiving morning my mom, grandma and sister get up early in the morning to bake the turkey and start the rest of the food. I wake up and talk to them as they are showing me how to cook. I’d rather not cook for thanksgiving because it is too many expectations to get a specific taste for the food.

Around ten o’clock my brothers wake up, my niece walk in the living room with joy, and we turn on entertainment. I don’t mean one specific thing either. We play music with the television on. Even of we are not paying attention to neither. We get dressed up, go to our cousins house in Richmond to eat their food. It is never enough there. So we hang out with our cousins and go back to my mothers house to eat our dinner. I usually buy about four sweet potato pies, two apple, and and two peach. That usually lasts us for two days if we eat all of the food first. I hide a fifth pie in my closet as a personal because I love pie. The next morning, someone always find my pie and we eat that with left overs. I really love the holidays.

Besides Thanksgiving Christmas is my favorite holiday. My family and I never used to have great Christmas Eve’s or mornings. Yet, as we got older we learned how to value each other and understand one another. After Thanksgiving is over my family and I decorate the Christmas tree with our mom playing holiday music. Every Christmas Eve we go in separate rooms to wrap each others gifts, then I help my sister wrap my niece’s gifts. We all put the presents under the tree once my niece is sleeping and go to sleep ourselves. The next morning my niece wake everyone up and we all gather around the tree. My niece gets her presents first, of course. Then we all open our gifts. It’s usually what each of us need or want. Afterwards, I bake chocolate chip cookies and make a ginger bread house with my brothers. Every year we decorate it differently. We watch our favorite Christmas movies while the food is cooking. They drink egg nog and I drink a little bit. When the food is done we eat dinner together and share our thanks and love to each other for another year.

Leave a Reply

