What’s the fuss with ‘Gilmore Girls’?


gilmore

Scrolling through my Facebook newsfeed, I see post after post of “Gilmore Girls” related articles:

“For All The Girls Who Thought Of Themselves As Honorary Gilmores”

“Rory from ‘Gilmore Girls’ Is Actually the Worst”

And my favorite, “Rory Gilmore was a Sham”

Enough.

I’m not going to tell you to not watch the show, nor am I going to tell you how amazing it is.

Frankly, I’m a bit annoyed about the amount of attention this show is getting. And that’s coming from a longtime “Gilmore Girls” fan.

Why do people care so much?

I grew up with the show. My oldest sister, Sofia, started watching it when it first aired back in 2000. (That was almost 17 years ago, say what?) I had no choice but to watch it with my sister, seeing as she would sit on me if I attempted to fight her for the tv remote. As time wore on my complaints lessened and I grew to like it alot.

I couldn’t tell you what I expected from the shows revival. Did I want Rory to find true love? Did I want her to be a successful journalist? Well, I wanted the latter.

It sounds stupid but I saw a lot of myself in Rory. I’m an aspiring journalist hoping to someday work for NPR. I make pro/con lists when I have big decisions to make. Heck, the biggest box I had when I moved to Sacramento was filled with books. And don’t get me started on coffee. Just read my previous blog for more details on that topic.

I suspect that I’m not the only one who identified with Rory. That’s where I think most of the reactions (well, upset reactions) stem from.

To see Rory crash and burn in her journalism career just killed this fantasy I had of how similar we both were. I mean, what the heck? At the end of season seven she was going off to be a part of Obama’s campaign!

I always thought Rory and I would both be met with like challenges and successes. But the reality of it is, not everything turns out how you think it will. And that’s a truth I didn’t want to accept even in tv shows. In a career field like journalism, it’s unrealistic to think that you’ll graduate from college and slide right into a cozy office at the New Yorker headquarters.

Do you know how many times I’ve heard the phrase “journalism is a dying career”? Alot. I guess I just expected someone like Rory Gilmore, who always has a plan, to be successful. I just wanted a glimmer of hope.

A part of me feels ridiculous for dedicating a whole blog submission to this one fictional character. But when this show gets so much hoopla that The Washington Post and Vice are writing about it, I feel the need to jump on the bandwagon.

Rory grew up and became someone I don’t identify with anymore. The girl who was once my idol is now just a cautionary tale.

Comments

  1. I see you like the Gilmore Girls. I agree with a lot of what you said about Rory. They really did her a disservice in the revival with where she ended up. However, did you know that Scott Patterson (Luke) has a new band? They’re called SMITHRADIO and they released their first single, HAHA Song. You can check them out here: SMITHRADIOBAND.COM/MUSIC

Leave a Reply

