Me and Baseball


indexHello world! My name is Matthew (Matt) Wilkie and this is my very first blog on here. I am pretty new at doing this so please bear with me. I think a good place for me to start on my first blog is to give a nice introduction about who I am and what I am doing with myself.

First of all, I am an older student at Sacramento State. I have my reasons for starting a bit later in life but those reasons I will keep to myself if you all don’t mind! haha. Anywho, I am a communications major with a emphasis in mass media. It is my goal to get into the broadcasting field, specifically into the sports arena. Sports is my life, and discussing sports is probably the one thing that helps me get out of my shell. If my friends discuss anything else, I basically become a bump on the log.

My love for sports is also what attracted me to become a DJ on KSSU. As soon as my training is complete, there will be a new sports/country music show that my listeners can tune into. The show date is still to be determined so please be on the look out for when that happens.

My favorite sport by far is baseball. There is just something about baseball in general, the smell of the grass, the crack of the bat and managers and players getting ejected that creates a special allure to me. In hockey, people sometimes say “we went to a fight and a hockey game broke out;” this is sometimes true in baseball too. Brawls are a fairly common occurrence and this adds to the appeal of baseball. However, it is not the ejections or the brawls that really captures my attention; I think it is the suspense of what will happen on the next pitch that really causes me to stop what I am doing and pay attention.

Baseball has received a bad rap for being “too slow.” I will agree it is generally not fast paced like football or basketball is, but it is a game that requires strategy, which is something I love. Now you might ask “how on earth is there strategy in baseball, I mean for crying out loud, all you have to do is hit the ball and run?” Well there is a lot more to this glorious game than that. First of all, the batter does not swing at just any pitch; he needs to be selective. It is imperative for a good baseball player to have a “good eye at the plate.”Secondly, the pitcher does not just throw one type of pitch, he usually has at least 3 or 4 different kinds of pitches he can use to try and confuse the hitter in hope of getting him out. Thirdly, base runners try to read the pitcher in a way that allows him to get a “good jump” in order to steal a base. These are just a few different kinds of strategies that baseball has and I could probably write another 1,000 words getting into more details about baseball, but I will end it here.

So that is a little about me and my passion for baseball. Please stay tuned for more blogs later on during this semester.

Comments

  1. Baseball rules!

Leave a Reply

