Easter


Easter is finally here! This was a holiday I used to spend with my family without understanding the meaning behind it. As a young child, meaning behind holidays does not matter. The only thing that matters is that the family gets together and celebrate the holiday with each other. I come from a big family so our family tradition was to visit our cousin’s house in Richmond, CA. The house has a back yard that has a hill and big enough for all of the children to search for Easter eggs. I remember going to the house, painting Easter eggs, and eating large plates of food. The parents would be in the backyard hiding the Easter eggs in the backyard , and us children would go to the back and do a Easter egg hunt. There was always a golden egg that had money in it. The adult’s loved me and knew I would share with my siblings, so they showed me where the golden egg was. I held on to the money until it was  time to go home. When my mom took my siblings and I home, we stopped by the store, and I bought us all snacks to eat. I used to love the Easter egg hunts.

Now that I am older, everyone in my family is working. No one has time take the entire day off for Easter. We all might work and get off early. But I realized that things change as you get older, especially the way you celebrate holidays. There are only a few children in our family right now who can do the Easter egg hunt. However, my cousin’s who held Easter each year at their house is older now. No one feels like doing the Easter egg hunt so my siblings, mother, and I meet up by five o’clock and eat dinner together. It isn’t much but it is enough to keep my family together for the holidays. We are now discussing a new way to celebrate Easter. For instance, doing more activities for my five year old niece to have something to look forward to each Easter, similar to what my siblings and I looked forward to each Easter. Although my family and I are older now, it is still great to have traditions to expand ideas for them in the future.

 

Leave a Reply

