My Mother is My Best Friend…Sometimes


UntitledI’m not a very sappy type of person. Not to my friends, not to my boyfriend of three years; Nobody. I think the only one I give any type of affection to is my dog, my boyfriend’s dogs, and my friend’s dog. Dogs are love, dogs are life.

Anyways, on my way home from school-my day goes from 7 AM to 6 PM every day- I stopped at Target to get a few things for myself. A gallon of sweet tea, a 4-pack of Starbucks chilled coffee, and a good-looking Hershey’s chocolate bar.

I can already feel your judgment from how much sugar I eat, and all I have to say is, “Treat yourself!”

After grabbing my items and getting back into my car, I came to the realization that I hadn’t called my mother in a few days. I like to keep in touch with her because, like most of us college students living on our own, I enjoy getting to know how to do this whole “adulting” thing. But I also realized that I don’t tell her how often I appreciate everything she does for me, and how much I love her.

So, I called her on her cell phone and asked how she was doing. She replied with the casual, “I’m fine” before I proceeded.

“I just wanted to call and tell you how much I love you, and I appreciate everything you do for me even though I don’t say it all too often.”

I thought we were having a sweet, mother-daughter moment.

Again, I’m not a sappy person.

My mother paused for a moment and asked, “What did you do?” as if I was about to confess to a crime I committed.

“Nothing! I just wanted to let you know that-”

“-Hold that thought. I’m gonna go get a glass of water.”

Mom! Really? I’m trying to be sentimental here, and you just ruined the moment! She cut me off as I was trying to express my appreciation. Mind you, I’m still in the Target parking lot, having a full-blown conversation with my mother about how she ruined the moment.

She thought it was funny, though, and I honestly thought it was, too. My mother has always been a little skeptical about the things I choose to do, but at least I know she has my back when something goes down. She knows I think of things without actually sitting on the topic and processing them, but she is definitely my biggest fan and number one supporter.

We continued our conversation as I drove home and had a nice, 40-minute-long chat about current events that have happened in the family and what I plan to do after school. She started telling me how a State job is good pay, and of course I said, “Oh! Money I can spend on cosplay, food, and video games. Cool!”

I could almost feel her give me that “mom look” through the phone. Terrifying. Pursed lips, risen brow, and that stare that sends shivers through your soul. It’s almost impossible to look her in the eye. You know what I mean!

I wish I had more time in my day to talk to my mother. She knows how busy I get during the weeks when softball and schoolwork dominate my life, and the little hour of time I have before she goes to bed is the only time I can sit down and chat.

Either way, any moment I can talk to my mom is never dull. It’s my time of relaxation and laughter when I’m stressed, and a way to pass the time if I need to rant.

Mom is always there, and I really do love and appreciate her for that.

Leave a Reply

