Another Distraction’s New Album: Fragments


AnotherDistraction-Fragments-AlbumArtHey there folks, I’m DJ Rosie from Film Frequencies, on air Wednesdays from 12-1, and today I am going to be reviewing a brand new album from Another Distraction titled Fragments.
Before I begin, I’d like to put you in the headspace that I am currently existing in. I went out and saw the new Kingsman movie, Kingsman: The Golden Circle. Although the film was great I decided to make the fateful decision to drink 48 fluid ounces of Cherry Coke. I assumed that I could handle such a drink. As I have now learned, I cannot.
I got home and immediately felt sick, and then went into a sugar induced coma for five hours. I have now awoken and decided, “Hey, now is a wonderful time to write a review of a loud rock CD!” Let’s hope I was right.
After looking at the CD, there are six songs on it, and after some research, this is an EP released on September 8th, 2017. The total duration of the album is 22 minutes and 3 seconds. Not a bad listen if you’re on your way to work or want to show your friends. I personally don’t have a long attention span, so this length is perfect for me.
The first song is called ‘Direction Define’. The song is about, as I interpret it, someone being isolated by everyone and left to fend for themselves. Through all of it they find themselves, they define their own direction. Something about the tempo of the song makes you feel like you’ve listened to it before, but not in a bad way, it just feels nostalgic. If this first song is any indication of what is in store for the rest of them album, I am very enthusiastic about the rest of this album.
The next song, song two on the list, is called ‘Scene Kid’s Afraid To Leave The Scene’. This song is all about feeling in the moment. The chorus is “Let it go, let it go/ Tell me something I don’t know”. This song really makes you feel in the moment, and reaches out to the scene kid in all of us. I can completely imagine being in the crowd at this concert and excited to be part of something.
The third song is called ‘Use Your Words’. When this song begins, you can tell it is different the the previous two. It starts with a short instrumental, and the words are a lot angrier. It’s a lot of hurt, all about how someone hurt them and comments “It’s easy for you”. This hits notes a lot harder than the other two songs, and shows another side of the band that I am excited to see.
Track 4 is called ‘Betting On Infinity’. It begins with a tad bit of shouting, leaning towards my classic idea of loud rock. That theme continues through the song slightly, but the rest of the song is more similar to track 1 and 2, where it is a sadder, more classic type of punk (and slightly pop, just slightly) rock.
The fifth song is called ‘Where I Reside’, and it begins with a darker tone, with wording that leans towards more emo. There are sections of the song that have just the singer and drummer playing, and it helps pace the song a lot better than if it were to keep a similar pace the whole time. It gives the listener something to break up all of the songs and refocus and regain the interest.
The final song is the one I am most excited about. The title is ‘For the Love of Sarah’. I don’t know why, but I absolutely love when songs have the names of people in them. It has a voyeuristic feel that is very intriguing. It begins very softly, and with the line ‘This is not where I imagined we would be” which I found appropriately ironic, as my first thought when hearing the song was “Is that a acoustic guitar?”, which, as the lead singer stated, isn’t what I imagined in a loud rock album.
And wow, it surprised me. A female singer, who I learned is named Sara Anderson, comes in about a minute into the song. The duet is something I wasn’t expected, but absolutely love. This song is mostly acoustic and not at all loud rock, until about another minute in, and then the rest of the band comes in. It’s such a fun and wonderful song, I definitely wasn’t expecting this but it lived up to the hype that the title set for me.
Overall, this is a great album. Most of it –excluding the last song, that one just made me excited and a bit sad — was very nostalgic for me. About five years ago, this was the exact music that I was listening to and it took me right back to that. In this album, every instrument is very distinct, which is something I appreciate in loud rock. I know that I have listen to other bands where I can’t quite tell the difference between what is playing when because everything is so, well, loud. I’m so happy that I’ve been able to listen to this album and I am so very excited to see what Another Distraction has in store next!

Leave a Reply

