Music Review – Tony Bennett & Amy Winehouse “Body and Soul”


Music Review – Tony Bennett & Amy Winehouse
By: Josue “Josh” Alvarez Mapp (a.k.a. DJ Mappquest)

So in this world, there is music, and then there is music.  In growing up, I spent 10 years listening to music from the 1950’s to 1970’s, by choice.  That was music to me.  In getting to high school, that all changed.  I was introduced to alternative, rock, hip hop, rap, pop, and more (in that order).  And from then I listened to music.  But now that I am in the college life, I have been balancing between music and music.  I was actually listening to Frank Sinatra a few weeks ago, along with Dean Martin, Sammy Davis Jr., and more like that, and it got me to thinking: “You just don’t hear music like that very much anymore.”  And part of me wished someone still did.  And my wishes were answered.

This year was troubled by the death of a good artist – Amy Winehouse.  From then many people flocked to her music calling it great.  Me, already having it because she made music, I played her songs for quite some time (still is in circulation on my playlists on my iPhone and Mac).  But I was sad, since I had hope for a long career from her where she could make more and more music, since so few make music like that anymore.

It was announced at this year’s MTV Video Music Awards by Tony Bennett that he actually produced a song with Amy.  It was also here that Bruno Mars covered her song Valerie, in an amazing performance.  I believe that’s when it got me to thinking: “They don’t make bands like that anymore.”  And from there I have been patiently waiting for this song.

And the song was released on September 14th as a single, in which you can download the mp3 and/or music video.  At first I was only going to get the single, but I wanted the video too for whatever weird reasons even though I hardly look at music videos these days (thanks to MTV only playing them when I’m asleep).  Nearly all but pennies of the close to three bucks you spend on this goes to the Amy Winehouse Foundation.   Their song is titled “Body and Soul”.  The song does not disappoint at all.  Tony Bennett is already a legendary singer in his own right.  Tony is also great with other artists too (go listen to his album Duets).  Their vocals, with music behind their great voices makes for a great song.  Not much else can be said about this really.  If you like/love Tony Bennett, and/or if you like/love Amy Winehouse, you will like/love this song.  Go and download it.

As always, for those who are skeptical about the song and wanna hear it, and if the minute and a half preview on iTunes isn’t enough, tune in this Friday, September 16th, to my radio show on KSSU at 3 PM PST and you will hear it and everything else musical.  (P.S. You can tune in even if you like the song and already own it.)

Also, you can look forward to getting Tony Bennett’s Duets II, coming to a digital (and possible physical) store near you, on September 20th, 2011.