The Fray: Helios Album Review


helios

At the beginning of each New Year, one of the things I do while I am still on winter break is to research all the new music that’s going to be released within the New Year. I love being able to check out new music from artist I’ve never heard of, as well as listen to music from bands that I have once listened to or currently listening to. One of the bands that I used to listen to while I was in high school was The Fray, who recently released their fourth album Helios on February 25, 2014

love dont direOn the day before the album was released, I listened to their singles to get a sense of what their album would entail. I was quite shocked when I listened to their singles, “Love Don’t Die” and “Hurricane” because I noticed that the band went a different direction from their first album, How To Save A Life.

The first single that was released was “Love Don’t Die.” The song begins with the strum of the guitar quietly playing, and then builds up the beat as the drums kick in. Once the drums come into place, the song becomes more aggressive.  Throughout the song, lead singer Isaac Slade pushes his voice to create a raspy tone, and to hit the high notes.

The second single off of Helios was Hurricane. The lyrics and how Slade sings this song reminded me of The Fray’s early works.  Throughout this song, Slade stretches the last syllable of the word ‘hurricane” with his raspy voice.  Both “Hurricane” and “Love Don’t Die” will leave the listener tapping their foot throughout the whole song.

One of my favorite songs off the album is, “Give It Away.” Throughout the song, the guitar riffs contain a soul and funky vibe that makes listeners want to dance. This song showcases Slade’s rich voice and also showcases the bands vocals and harmonies. “Give It Away” brings a new spark to their music and encompasses the new direction that they are going with their music.

Even though the singles went a different direction from what listeners are used to, there were still a few songs that keep to The Fray’s original the fray logoemotional style. A few songs that I would recommend off of this album that stays true to their root are, “Our Last Days,” “Hold My Hands,” “Break Your Plan,” and “Closer to Me.” These songs stay true to their deeply emotional style and their vocal execution.

Overall, I would recommend Helios. This album contains a combination of energy and upbeat tones, along with emotional piano ballads that allow the band to stay true to their original roots. Many of the songs will remind listeners of Fall Out Boy, The Script, and One Republic.

Rating: 4/5

Comments

  1. Basically, I agree with you… But I guess I was more disappointed, giving them (just) 3,5/5. =(

Trackbacks

  1. […] Lytle is a new DJ at KSSU. If you enjoyed this post, leave a comment down below. To check out some other blog posts I’ve posted, or the fellow KSSU DJs, visit kssunews.wordpress.com. And be sure […]

  2. […] Lytle is a new DJ at KSSU. If you enjoyed this post, leave a comment down below. To check out some other blog posts I’ve posted, or the fellow KSSU DJs, visit kssunews.wordpress.com. And be […]

  3. […] Photo courtesy of kssunews.wordpress.com […]

Leave a comment